In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today’s world, the number of people suffering from health issues such as diabetes, obesity, heart disease, i.e. due to junk food is increasing very fast. For that reason, many people think that the junk food producers should be taxed higher as it could be used in public health service, whereas, others believe that charging high tax might not solve the issue. In my opinion, the government should impose a higher tax on this sort of food although there are some underlying counter-arguments involved with it.

As we can see, opting for a healthy lifestyle is a choice, and clearly not an obligation. Moreover, it relies on that particular individual, if someone really cares about his own well-being he or she may automatically choose to pursue good habits. For example, consuming high sugar foods and living a sedentary life is an individual choice and he or she has his or her own independence to do it. Thus, liberty plays an important role here no one can influence or manipulate such things to anybody.

Moreover, the majority of junk meals contain a lot of chemical additives and unhealthy products that might cause stomach problems. This is because of the fact that not only does not this nutrition have any vitamins that, in turn, support immune system but also they are made from unhealthy stuff that might not be perceived by human's organism. Therefore, a person is likely to experience a lot of stomach-aches and their level of metabolism will be reduced. As a result of government intervention prices for fast-food will be increased that, in turn, is likely to discourage consumers to purchase more.

In conclusion, the authority should tax the fast-food chain to make it helpful for the people in medical need although issue regarding the scarcity of alternative should come into consideration.