In some countries an increasing number of people suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary. for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In today's developing era, the increasing popularity of fast food seem to be an unstoppable trend. As a result of this issue, a significant number of people in some country have health diseases. From my point of view, I partly agree that the government should increase the tax on fast food for the following reasons.

On the one hand, tax increase on junk food has benefit. The higher prices can help to reduce the desire to eat unhealthy food. This will make fast food unaffordable for some people and force them to prepare meals at home. Despite the inconvenience, it is beneficial for consumer's health because the home made food have less fat with good ingredients. However, lower income people eat more junk food than wealthier people. The reason for this is fast food is cheaper than healthy produce. Many families cannot afford to buy fresh food or pay higher taxes on fast food. For them, fast food is not a choice but a necessity. If they have to pay more, this would be a burden for them. Because of that, the government should consider carefully before taking any decision.

On the other hand, the fund from higher taxes could be used to improve the medical facilities.

Being over reliant on unhealthy food have make people suffer from many serious illnesses such as obesity, heart disease and so forth. Because of that, it will create pressure and make the hospital overloaded. Thus, it would be necessary for raise this amount of money from the producer and consumer of junk food to have a better medical system.

To sum up, imposing the tax on fast foods will help the medical community and decrease the popularity of lower income consumer. But if the governments really want to reduce the consumption of junk foods, making healthy products more affordable is the best solution.