In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food To what extend do you agree or disagree with

In the modern world, the invention of fast food has revolutionized the food industry. The fast food chains are able to prepare and serve food quickly. People tend to opt for fast food mainly due to its easy accessibility and cost effectiveness. But prolonged consumption of fast food has led to the decline of the health of numerous people in a few countries. The government imposes a certain tax on fast food and I believe it should impose a higher tax so that people will not choose to eat fast food over home cooked meals.

There are certain benefits we go to a restaurant or a fast food chain. The food is prepared in less than 20 minutes which helps people with a tight schedule to grab a meal quickly and continue with their daily tasks. Fast food is sold for less price in such a way that people from all financial backgrounds can afford it. Though fast food is delicious and cheap, It has detrimental effects on health. Deep fried foods increase cholesterol levels in the body which can lead to several health ailments.

The Indian government in order to curb the spread of fast food increased the taxes levied on fast food to 18% of the total bill. This change was opposed strongly by the general public since they had to pay a lot of tax for a meal. The government later amended the law to alter the tax on food to 5%. In the duration where the tax imposed on fast food was high, almost 1/5 of the total cost, many of my friends and family chose to eat home cooked meals. People started adopting better food habits and reduced the consumption of fast food.

In conclusion, people opt for fast food because it’s cost effective and easy to access fast food restaurants. The tax levied by the government on fast food will impact the food habits of many individuals and it is necessary to impose a fairly high tax on fast food so that the people don't prefer to eat them often.