Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical service should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private healthcare outweigh the disadvantages?

In the last few decades, we have witnessed the rapid advancements of medical care and procedures to treat a variety of ailments. Due to the advent of modern medicine, people are able to live longer. living longer is only meaningful if one retains their health, otherwise, they could be a burden on their family and have disadvantages to everyone. if you walk into a hospital in my country, the majority of the people are old and people who cannot fend for themselves.

These medical advancements are aiding old people to live longer and deal with their ailments at a greater cost. Unless people stay healthy and fit, they would be a burden on others. they would have to be taken care of and they most likely would stay at care centers. Their children will be working and would not have time to take care of them. so they send their parents to old age homes which might have a negative impact on the parents’ mindset.

In contrast, not all old people become ill. they would have good health and an active lifestyle. they can pursue things that they could not do when they were young. they can travel, join a class, or pick up a hobby. they wouldn’t have the same vigor and health in their sixties and seventies as they had in their youth. But pursuing things they like can be a good thing for them and can keep them happy. they can also look after their grandchildren if their children are working.

The pandemic has proved to us that medical care is very essential and isolation is the only method to ensure that it doesn't spread to other people. This can also have a negative impact on people. Hence, I believe having good health and keeping oneself fit is the best way to live so that they don’t face problems when they grow older.