In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Eating fast food becomes the biggest concern especially in developed countries because this malnutrition food can cause several health issues. Some people claim that the government should impose a higher tax rate on fast food in order to restrict this issue. Even though the higher tax rate on fast food can reduce the consumption rate in some extent, but this will be the short run goal. Since people have addicted to stimulus tastes with the convenient reason, the taxation would not restrict people’s consumption. Therefore, I completely disagree with this solution and I believe that the government should find an alternative solution to tackle this solution.

There is a growing rate of people who consume junk foods in developed countries especially in Australia and this causes massive health issues including heart failure and various cancers. In Australia, the survey had announced that 99% of people have had consumed junk foods in 2014 and among those, about 60% have answered as they relied their daily meals on fast foods. This proportion is increasing every year and predicted to be reaching at 95% by 2020. If this is the case, the government would be suffered from sick people and diseases, and it is necessary to find the desperate measure to put a halt to junk food consumption.

Imposing taxation can be seen as one of measure to be used to restrict people’s unhealthy diet. If the government imposes a higher tax on fast foods, people will stop eating fast foods, because the price will be higher. If the price for fast foods is similar to those of other restaurant foods’ price, then people would no longer choose the fast foods. Also, if this repetitive choice will become a habit of people and they can consume healthier foods. Therefore, people can maintain their health diets by eating non-junk foods.

Even though the higher tax rate can stop the unhealthy diets and make people to maintain healthy diets, this is only for a short term. People consume fast foods for convenient, stimulus tastes and easy access reasons and the price is just one of those lists. If people are already addicted to stimulus tastes then the price would not be the matter. In the UK, for instance, had introduced the higher tax on fast foods in 2013 and within a month, this had been vailed out since the consumption rate did not change. As a result, imposing a tax on fast food would not be the ultimate solution to restrict people’s consumptions on fast foods. Therefore, the government should find the alternative methods to solve this issue rather than taxation.

In conclusion, eating junk food is problem and common phenomenon in developed countries. As this issue is increasing, the health issue related to such consumption also rises. The government and some people have suggested imposing higher taxes on fast foods to decrease the consumption rates but I believe that this is not practical, because people cannot stop with stimulus craving desires. Therefore, the government should look for the other measures to control people’s eating habits.