In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.To what extend do you agree or disagree wi

Nowadays, people are always in a hurry, and as a result of hectic lifestyle, they hardly find time to cook proper meals for themselves. Consequently, an excessive consumption of junk food leads to health issues such as diabetes, high cholesterol, cancer and etc. There are some people who believe that governments should implement heavy taxes on fast food. Personally, I partly agree with this idea because of the following reasons.

On the one hand, it is irrefutable that implying the high tax on junk food would discourage consumers especially students and children from consuming it. The reason why is only paying a big amount of money for food which has harmful and ill effects can deter them gaining a lot of fat or weight and getting really out of shape. Moreover, when people cut down on eating fast food and making time to cook at home instead, they can easily save up and utilize this amount of money on something useful or beneficial. For instance, last month I cut back on my outlay for fast food and surprisingly I saved 150 dollars which I spent it on booking an IELTS exam.

On the other hand, applying heavy tax is not the only way to tackle this issue, obviously, other effective methods need to be considered. Firstly, authorities should limit the advertising of fast food eateries such as KFC, Mc Donald’s, King Burger and etc. in public places, especially in school areas or campuses. Secondly, as a consequence of imposing a high tax on fast food, the unemployment rate will be high, therefore it will cause many social problems such as committing crimes, robberies and so on. On account of that, the government should make healthy food more affordable than fatty food.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that high taxes should be implemented by the government, I also believe that there are other useful ways.