Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.To what extent do yo u agree with this statement?

Governments in some countries spend large amounts of money on arts, music, and theatre. While I believe that the funds should be allocated to public services, I also accept the fact that, arts, music, the theatre has an importance for every nation.

There are several reasons why governments should invest in public services such as education, health, transportation, roads and so on. Firstly, if government reallocated the money on education, many thousands of people could be lifted out of poverty or given a better quality of life. For instance, when I was a child, I had an opportunity to study in a good school which was adapted to students' needs and technology change, and it had a great impact in my further education, then in my social status and in my life. Secondly, without an investment of government in health, the health of any society may decline. In this case, people would have poor health and it could lead to many issues in society in every aspect. Finally, if the government does not spend its funds on public services, a country can lag behind compared to other developed countries.

On the other hand, I suppose that government should make a budget on arts, music, theatre as well. The first reason why is art represents the history and culture of a nation. Otherwise, a country would not be complete.

Next, it is relaxation therapy for people. When they want to entertain, the first thing that comes to their mind is going to cinema or concert or visiting museums. Last but not least, a government can benefit it a lot. For example, while painters are having some galleries and selling them or movie industry

are shooting many films, the government can receive huge amounts of taxes from them.

In conclusion, I guess that for the government there should be a balance between both, spending money on arts, music, theatre and public services, too.