In some countries online shopping is now replacing shopping in stores Do you think it is a negative or positive development

In this day and age, with the rapid development of science and technology, many people have an increasing tendency to go online shopping rather than shop in stores or boutiques. In my point of view, I believe that this trend brings both pros and cons.

On the one hand, with the utilitarian applications of the internet and its platforms, virtual shopping indeed has a variety of advantages. First of all, in this busy world where its citizens have become so restless, online shopping stands out to be a perfect way to purchase merchandise, from groceries to cosmetics. According to research conducted in 2023, the number of digital buyers is about 2.64 billion, making up 33.3% of the global population. In addition, numerous people assert that e-shops offer a wide diversity of goods and commodities, both domestic and international. With this convenience, a Vietnamese man can buy a T-shirt or a pair of pants from the UK, just with an additional delivery fee. It stands to reason that online shopping has shown its practical benefits during the covid-19 pandemic. Throughout the lockdown periods, I don’t at no time were people permitted to go out; however, essentials were still required to run a household. This led to a massive surge in cyber shopping that helped prevent the transmission of the virus among people.

On the other hand, electronic shopping can cause unwanted effects. Firstly, all buyers cannot be certain whether the retailers sell the products as they advertise. Many people report having been cheated to buy pirated and low-quality goods that copy almost the same as the authentic brands. Furthermore, e-commerce can be hazardous for customers because their personal information such as credit card numbers or names could be stolen. As a result, the purchasers’ identity could be in danger of illegal usage by hackers.

In conclusion, while i agreed that teleshopping brings various benefits to people in the modern era; however, there are some dangerous drawbacks of this trend that everyone, seller or buyer, should take into account.