People are consuming more and more sugar based drinks Why What can be done to reduce sugary drink consumption

In the modern era, more individuals consume carbohydrate drinks than ever. This essay will present several prominent reasons for this phenomenon, as well as giving effective methods that can be implemented to limit the consumption of sugary beverages.

To commence with, the prominent reason leading to the upward trend of people, predominantly youngsters, opting for carbohydrate beverages is that there is a variety of delectable sugary beverages available on the market for reasonable prices which people from almost every economic background can afford. In addition, they are diverse in types and flavors with resplendent colors for individuals to select, and most importantly, owing to several media campaigns, more people are conversant with many well-known soft drink brands such as Coca-Cola, Pepsi, and Panta, to name a few. In contrast, in the past, this type of beverage was not so prevalent among people because they were all similar and made from basic ingredients that did not, to some extent, provoke people’s appetite.

Excessive consumption of sugar-based drinks can pose detrimental threats to people’s overall health; therefore, several methods can be applied in order to reduce this phenomenon. Firstly, it is advisable and beneficial that the government heighten citizens’ awareness about the adverse effects of sugar-based drinks on their health. Some research indicates that consuming too many soft drinks can increase people’s incidence of diabetes, obesity, heart disease, tooth decay, and cavities. As a result, when being well informed about the deleterious impacts of sugary beverages on their health, citizens will eventually shift to healthier selection. Additionally, people should be encouraged to consume a wide range of fresh fruits as snacks in substitution for sugar-based drinks. Not only do scrumptious fruits provide a large number of healthy substances such as essential vitamins and fiber but they also accommodate people with adequate water to prevent dehydration and maintain a balanced metabolism.

In conclusion, because of several factors, sugar-based drinks are growing in popularity among individuals; however, several steps can be taken to curtail the use of sugary beverages.