In some countries owing a home rather than renting one is very important for people Why might this be the case Do you think it is a positive or negative situation

To buy or to rent a home? this is a very important question to ask, in many countries, thanks to the soaring housing price, to buy a home is now considered a life changing decision, as the mortgage could take over 30 years in average to be repaid! Especially in Asia, it is generally believed that being a home owner is crucial. This essay intend to delve into the reason behind this phenomenon and whether it is good or bad.

To begin with, it is beneficial to understand what constitute this belief. Culturally speaking, those culture developed from agriculture society tend to hold this thought. This is because in ancient time, owning lands means owning wealth and stability, the whole family's faith depends on the farmland they have and they tend to live in a single place for their whole lives. That's why owning a home instead of renting one means guaranteed future. Of course, nowadays we do not own a flat to farm, but it remains a valuable asset allowing us to gain wealth, we could sell them in good price or we could simply let the flat.

The essence of capitalism is that one could enjoy what one earn. If you pay off the mortgage, you could enjoy being a landlord and the passive income. Passive income is many people's dream because it means stability, even if you loss your job, you could still make a living by the capital gain from the asset. This is good for the society as it grants incentive for all the hardworking citizens. Whereas, it is not without drawbacks as it creates housing problem. Government needs to make sure the rapidly rising property price and rent do not exploit the basic human right of accommodation by means like rent control.

To put it all in a nutshell, I would like to emphasize that properties trade is a normal and healthy activities in capitalism. It satisfies human's need, it helps economy to thrive. However, it has to be controlled as it will also inflict pain especially on the glassroot class who might not be able to cope with expensive rent.