In some countries owning a home rather than rent one is very important for people Why might this be the case

veryone needs a proof over their heads, whislt some individuals prefer a rental place to live, others would like to have their ownership of their home. As an Asian woman, eventhough I have been renting apartments my entire aldulthood, one of my life goals is to soon have a home that I own and I do not think there is a negative affect about that decision.

Having lived in foreign countries for a considerable amount of time, I speak for my what I learnt and witnessed that most people,a part from the ones that have Asian heritage, does not consider owning a home their desire. The argue would be because they are satisfied with the way things are in their rental homes and nobody likes changing. In addition, even if they are not happy with the place, they can quickly move out and move on to the next place. However, this is not an option for home owners. Furthermore, buying a home is taking in extra financial burden plus more for maintaining it. From all that stated, I completed understand why some people does not wish to own a home.

On the other hand, individuals that looking to purchase a home of their own are the ones that prefer stability in life and are confident they can manage to run a home. Dispite the financial burden, owning home also comes with significant benefits financially and mentally. For instance, it is clear that many renters lost their home during the COVID-19 pandemic because they couldn’t afford the rent due to the mass unemployment followed the worldwide lockdown. This is not the case for home owners as they have ownerships on the house and no hassles with the landlords into the bargain. As I mentioned above, cultural diversity affects Asian mindsets as well, we believe that owning a place to call home is the foot of a prosperity life.

To conclude, while both views have persuasive reasons for why they would or would not want to own a home. I personally possitive that owning a home does not create any negativity in ones life.