In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people.

Why might this be the case?

Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In many countries, young adults want to be homeowners instead of renting. I believe that there are multiple motivations for this aspiration, and this is a positive way of thinking.

There are various reasons behind this perspective and one of the primary reasons is that people do not want to depend on landlords. Landlords can increase rent at any time and they can interfere with the privacy of tenants. Tenants also are terminated from the rental contract and have to find a new place. Furthermore, people prefer owning a home to renting one because they can change the structure of their house, decorate and modify spaces to their desires. It is clear that tenants cannot do the same things when they rent a house or an apartment. For example, when a person chooses to rent an apartment, they cannot renovate and break down anything in this space.

Although there are both drawbacks and benefits to this trend, I believe that it is a positive situation. First, a house can be an investment in the future because real estate tends to increase its value over time. People can rely on this property to secure their lives when they retire without financial worries. For example, in Vietnam, the prices of houses increased significantly over 20 years, especially in big cities like Ho Chi Minh and Hanoi. Moreover, owning a home also helps to improve the mental health of owners. The sense of living in own house makes people feel comfortable and free.

In conclusion, people want to own a home rather than renting one because they want to have the legal rights to their property, independent of landlords and they can change and modify their houses in the way they want. I believe that this is a positive situation because it can be an investment and improve the owner’s mental health.