In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people Why might this be the case Do you think this is a positive or negative situation

In many countries, many young adults set out to be homeowners by 30 years old, not opting for renting. I think there are multiple motivations for this aspiration, and this is a positive way of thinking.

One of the most important reasons why people do not want to rent houses or apartments is because they are dependent on landlords or potential roommates. Owning a home means you are in total control of how your house looks like, how many people it hosts, or even how many utilities it uses. Landlords can also throw people out at any moment during their rent or, in many cases, can break into tenants’ space at their convenience. Moreover, owning a home also means an elevated social status. You are now considered a functional, successful, responsible adult. For most men, you are also considered a better candidate for marriage because you are now ready to welcome a new family into your home.

I think, generally, this is a positive development for individuals. Switching from a rented property to an owned home benefits individuals financially. Because tenants depend on landlords to control the rent, they usually waste more money renting a place for a long time than owning one. Owned houses are also an investment as many houses can gain value over the time that owners stay there. For example, houses in Go Vap District now triple in value compared to what they used to be a decade ago. Another reason why people want to be a homeowner is due to the positive correlation between owning a home and better mental health. Owning a home usually means a sign that adults have made it in their lives, which in turn eases the mind of adults. For some, home-owning even means increased privacy.

In conclusion, wanting independence from landlords and elevating their social status are reasons people want to own a home. I think this is generally a positive development because it can be a future investment, while also easing individuals’ minds.