In some countries people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing and starting university studies.

It is common in many countries that people encouraged to work or travel between finish high school and starting university studies.

The advantages of working or traveling between these ages is very important for the student of course if he would like it, but traveling or working gives you the needed experience for future studies or working. Here some advantages of traveling or working gaining experience, making relations with important people for you future discoveries, exchanging and etc.

In contrast, there are also some disadvantages and they are being far away from the family, friends and etc. However, there are certainly dangers in taking time off at that important age. Young adults may end up never returning to their studies or finding it difficult to re-adapt to an academic environment. They may think that it is better to continue in a particular job or to do something completely different from a university course. But overall, I think this is less likely today when academic qualifications are essential for getting a reasonable career.

In conclusion, it is very beneficial if student choose to work or travel between finishin high school and starting university studies and it is important for your future despite the small disadvantages.