In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? And is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that today, people tend to spend more time devoting to work. Reasons for this vary, and I believe that the trend has both negative and positive effects in equal measure.

The reason for an increase in working hours is largely down to a high living standard. With the development of the economy, it is undeniable that there is a considerable rise in prices. Everything ranging from basic necessities such as food and clothing to modern equipment like computers and televisions tends to be more expensive than in the past. Therefore, workers are under increasing pressure to try their best to work longer hours to satisfy their need in daily life.

I believe that this trend has both advantages and disadvantages. The benefit is that employers can hone their working skills by spending more time at work. Each job requires different qualifications and skills, and working more helps workers attain proficiency in accomplishing the task. Take a businessman as an example. The more he works, the more able in business matters he is. As a result, people being highly experienced and skilled have more likelihood of being promoted, climbing higher in the company’s hierarchy.

However, the drawback of spending more time at work is that this tendency can inform workers’ health negatively. Working long hours tends to be the culprit of a colossal number of health problems such as stress, sleep deprivation and headache. Recent study shows that in 2017, more than a half of the population suffered from lack of sleep, resulting from being at work for long hours. Moreover, working more means that people tend to spend less time with their family or friends. This is evident in most cities in China, where common working hours of workers go from 7 a.m to about 9 p.m. As a result, there is scarcity of time bonding with their relatives or friends. This gradually leads to a gap in relationship with their beloved ones.

In conclusion, spending long hours at work resulting from a high living standard has both negative and positive influences on workers. They should therefore have a good work-life balance to deprive of disadvantageous impacts.