In some countries, secondary schools provide a general education of a range of education. In other countries, children have a narrow range of subjects relating to a particular career. Which one do you think is more appropriate for the modern world?

To receive a comprehensive education before going to college is an essential part for many high schoolers in areas where education is a more test-or academics-oriented. However, an alternative to personal ambition is offered to them that they choose to graduate from a high school which provides curriculum of a relatively low diversity but centered on vocational training. Given that students are of different learning and thinking different, either of both diplomas could be a key in equipping them with adequacy in life success.

Admittedly, high school is a place more than job training. Learning multiple subjects exposes young mind to holistic understanding of different fields of study, including core subjects like maths or selective ones like painting. This comprehensive education allows them to think and decide differently about what field they might desire to indulge themselves in as professionals or what study they expect to pursue in college. Additionally, workplace changes along with varied times, educating young minds to be adaptive and flexible instead of being stringent in dealing with changes in future is the need of time when high school students study in different classes. Besides in real life, the acceptance of graduates from high schools setting mixed programmes by prestigious universities is far higher.

However, it is not feasible or practical to shape every child into an academia or scholar through secondary schooling, as some other students show talents and interests in technical or vocational courses like carpentry or culinary arts. Regular and traditional courses, if added to daily schedules, do not agree with their future planning, to get employed right after graduation. Narrow as vocational related courses may sound, technical education nevertheless expands students' options that they can go to college or find a satisfactory job with a standard diploma. A main focus on vocational training is even common in some special secondary schools which aim at hands-on learning so that graduates follow their own trades.

In conclusion, it is hard to identify which educational mechanism is optimal for high school students. If vocational education is directly tied to what they pursue, then forcing them to sit behind a desk all day is a waste of time and investment. But be that as it may, when children want to get themselves in campus life, a traditional education remains relevant.