In some countries, some criminal trials are shown on the TV and the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the development of the electricity technology, almost every family own a TV to watch news or programs. Whether the criminal trials can be seen on TV or not has sparked a hot discussion, some people think it has some benefits but others concern about the disadvantage. In my opinion, the advantages overweigh the disadvantage.

It can reduce the percentage of committing crime. People can learn the cost of breaking the law from the TV program which show and demonstrate the criminal trial, which would let the people who have the willing to do the dangerous things like robbing, driving after drinking and some others to be hesitated. They could consider how they will be treated after this and give up which will let fewer people to take the road of being criminal. Besides, the cases showed on the TV could be typical, it can let people who want to become a lawyer to have more chance to learn how the real court is and what they can or should say and do on it, that would be helpful.

Some people may have the opinion that it would offence the privacy of the criminals, but it could be solved by using some methods. The producer of that program can ask the criminal whether they can accept this, if not, they can use the technology approach such as changing their tuning of the voice and using something to mask their face or let the camera always face to the stuffs. Except that, harming to the teenager is also considered as a disadvantage, but it would not happen because the what the program concern is the trial but not the process of doing harm to the society.

All in all, showing the criminal trials on TV not only can let fewer people to break the law but also have the meaning of education, while the disadvantages could be prevented. So the advantages absolutely overweigh the disadvantages.