Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors in major sports competitions such as the Olympic Games and football World Cup etc. Others say it is better to spend money encouraging children to take up sports at a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The trend towards allocating resources for professional athletes in many countries has sparked conflicting opinions. While this is beneficial to national reputation, I completely agree that it should be better spent for the general public for some reasons.

On the one hand, it is reasonable to invest heavily in ambitious and prospective sports competitors for participating in international tournaments. Considering the costs of hiring foreign trainers and health care specialists, it requires a sufficient government budget to cover all aspects and areas of sports. This is deemed an intrinsic motivation, given the best conditions to nurture talents and high-quality equipment to practice sporting activities and those who are well-taken care by the state could be offered more opportunities to win a championship and bring glory for the nation. Hence, players who reach the pinnacle of sport could reinforce the reputation of a country by upholding their ranking in the global sports chart.

On the other hand, it is more justified for the governmental bodies to draw the attention on incentivizing sporting pursuit among the youth. Once the provision of sports facilities is executed, it could directly raise public awareness and allow youngsters to adopt a fitness regime, which is essential to one’s physique development. Furthermore, teaching programmes in which sports are integrated will enhance students' physical health, establishing an ideal balance between school schedule and outdoor activities, freeing them from the daily academic pressure. As a result, youngsters’ strengthened physical well-being will structure a solid society since they contribute largely to national productivity and societal function.

To conclude, the investment in professional sportsmen is essential. Nonetheless, the youths’ sporting spirit should be held in higher esteem and require additional attention in order to ensure their holistic development.