In some countries, there has been an increase in the number if parents choosing to self-educate their children at home rather than sending them to school. Do the advantages of home education outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, there is an increasing trend in some parts of the world that more and more families decide to educate their children at home rather than let them attend school. I am of the view that this issue has more shortcomings than benefits and in this essay I will take a closer look at this trend.

To begin with, some parents choose home education because of the indisputable advantages that come along with home schooling. One of the merits is the relationship among family members could be enhanced due to the increased interaction between siblings and parents. Each member would have their own experiences and stories, and through lecturing as well as talking the family bond would be unbreakable. Another noticeable benefit is self- education at home could save a small to a large sum of money because educational expenses wouldn't have to be paid.

However, home schooling would lack the qualification of the knowledge and also the certification, and un qualified parents and family members. Those problems may lead to misunderstanding and wrong information for the children. Secondly, children are lectured mostly at home so the massive amount of time they just be somewhere around the house, which is also attributed to problems of social interactions; they lack communication with all their peers as well as chance to get to know others' experiences, which through that individual could learn many soft skills when they are in society. Lastly, home education could take up most of the parents' time; parents must pay full of their attention and sacrifice their past time to concentrate on lecturing their children.

In conclusion, teaching your kids at home could have both pros and cons. Personally, I believe the demerits of homeschooling outweigh the merits, which is the lack of qualified knowledge as well s social communications and constitute massive amount of parents' time.