In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the disadvantages and advantages for young people who decide to do this.

Young people are encouraged to spend a year working, traveling or volunteering before embarking on universities. Taking a gap year between the high school and the university has become a quite ubiquitous option in some countries. As far as I am concerned, while they could gain a variety of benefits by doing kind of this trend, there are some detrimental drawbacks for young people who choose to do this.

There are several reasons why I would agree to take this break. Because of the fact that skyrocketing tuition and accommodation fees have been sharply increasing, saving money is a primary advantage of this. By taking intellectually challenging jobs, students can save up money and learn to apply their knowledge to real lives in advance. Even pure manual work can cultivate student’s diligence, discipline and strong will. What’s more, students who have spent more time making ends meet and travelling tend to be more independent, which is a very important factor in academic study and research, as well as giving them an advantage in terms of coping with the challenges in student life.

However, there are some certain dangers in taking time off at that important period. Adolescents may end up never returning to their study or finding it difficult to re-adapt to an academic environment. Most work as salesperson, which not only exhausts them physically, but also interferes with their study. In addition, there are adequate grants and scholarships setting aside to alleviate the financial burden of underprivileged students.

To recapitulate, despite some negative aspects, it is apparent that pre-university jobs and travelling will broaden youngsters’ horizons and prepare them to step out of the Ivory Tower and into the real world.