In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for year between finishing high school and starting university studies. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Before pursuing bachelor degrees, many students are advised to take a gap year to work or travel. This essay suggests that the experience gained and the money saved are the main advantages; while the delayed career and reduced motivation to study are the main disadvantages.

The main advantages of taking a gap year are learning the opportunity to learn more about the actual world and saving money for college. It is proven that people who take a gap year to experience new jobs tend to deal with mental stress and cultural shock in new workplaces better than those who do not do not. As students take a gap year to work or study, they are able to broaden their perspectives on many aspects on he real world, thus, giving them the capabilities to handle sunfamiliarity in their new occupation.

In addition to this, taking a year off for working can help students accumulate their savings for college. The cost for high-level degrees are quite expensive for most of students, therefore, having jobs during this break time can be useful for them. It is shown in a study of the Harvard University that 60% of the students in HU rely on the school’s sponsorship of tuition and accommodation as they are unable to cover them.

Despite these advantages, students may lose many potential career opportunities and disregard their educational progress. As many companies may have high expectations for their candidates, those who took a gap year may be at a disadvantage compared to other competitive.applicants.

Moreover, taking a year off for travelling or working may make students forget about their educational goals or plans. Studies form the University of Oxford have claimed that 70% of students that take a gap year after finishing high school never actually come back to pursue their bachelor degree.

In conclusion, taking a gap year can help students learn more about the world and earn their savings for college. However, they must be careful not to waste career opportunities and be distracted from their purpose to study.