In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the government should impose a higher tax on unhealthy food in order to reduce the health issues suffered by numerous people. This essay disagrees completely with this statement as imposing tax would not change people’s unawareness of healthy eating, moreover this action would affect people with lower incomes who have limited choices in unhealthy intakes

It has been identified that the habit of eating unhealthy food is based on many factors: the affordable prices of food; the accessibility of stores, the frequency of exercise and the awareness of healthy eating. Accordingly, it is the lack of concerns about having healthy diets and keeping fit that leads to the increase in health illness such as obesity or dyslipidemia.

Therefore, it is argued that levying tariffs on junk food would fail to tackle health problems that are not directly related to tax policy on food such as: raising people’s awareness of having beneficial intakes or adequate sleep and frequent exercise. In this regard, Canada is a prime example. Three years after tax was imposed on unhealthy food options, the consumption on these products dropped, yet the number of people suffering from obesity raised significantly higher.

In addition, imposing tax on a variety of food options may affect people with lower incomes. The absence of healthy food stuffs in so-called urban food deserts means that taxing junk food would disproportionally affect people living there. Accordingly, a survey conducted by the World Health Organization had shown that the combination of inaccessibility in poor countries and the widespread hunger leads to the purchase of food with low nutritious values from people with lower-average incomes.

In conclusion, junk food should not be subjected to taxes as this action of applying tax on fast food would not be able to tackle other problems related to the increase in health problems and the fact that this action might affect the impoverished