In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for the government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the government should impose a higher tax on unhealthy food in order to reduce the health problems suffered by a large number of people. This essay disagrees completely with this statement as imposing tax would not change people’s unconsciousness if healthy eating, thus would fail to identify the real problems to the issue and this action would affect people with low incomes.

It has been identified that the habit of eating unhealthy food based on many factors: the affordable prices of food; the accessibility of stores, the regulatory of exercise and the awareness of healthy eating. Accordingly, it is the unconsciousness of having healthy diet and keeping fit that leads to the increase in health problems such as obesity or dyslipidemia.

Therefore, it is argued that levying tariffs on junk food would fail to tackle health problems that are not directly related to tax policy on food such as: raising people’s awareness of having healthy intakes or adequate sleep and frequent exercise. In this regard, Canada is a prime example. Three years after tax was imposed on unhealthy food options, the consumption on these food was lowered, yet the number of people suffering from obesity raised significantly higher.

In addition to this, imposing tax on a variety of food options may affect people with lower incomes. The absence of healthy food options in so-called urban food deserts means that taxing junk food would disproportionally affect people living there. Accordingly, a survey conducted by the WHO had shown that the combination of inaccessibility in poor countries and hunger leads to the purchase of unhealthy food from people with lower average incomes.

In conclusion, junk food should not be taxed as this action of levying tax of fast food would not be able to tackle other problems related to the increase in health problems and the fact that this action might affect the poor.