In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

It has been stated that the younger generation should be forced to use a gap year for working and traveling before embarking on higher education. This essay will shed light on both the demerits and merits of this perception before concluding that the latter notion can bring far more benefits.

On the one hand, delaying study in college after graduating high school is associated with some negative effects. First and foremost, those who choose to work before taking study in university could face a struggle to keep up with their peers when they come back to school. This is because, after working a long time, they might have more time to familiar with studying than their classmate, which could lose their driving to study. Another salient justification is that traveling can put a strain on the financial stability of their parents. More specifically, if students who don’t have income or enough savings before traveling, they might need financial assistance from parents.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned discourse, the drawbacks are pale in comparison with the profound benefits of taking a gap year. One of the most gains is that this experience could enrich student’s life before pursuing a university degree. Due to working or travelling, students could acquire more insight and information about job, and culture, giving them have more heightened awareness of their dream future. As a result, they would have informed decisions about career aspirations before choosing a major in university. Another positive impact is that students could cultivate practice school as well as instill the value of working, allowing them more competitive compared to other students who solely on studying in college.

In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that there are some downsides of having a gap year for students including studying further and the burden of finances, the upsides are significantly weightier. If this trend is preferred, it can bring benefits to the labor workforce in the future.