In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities studies. Discuss the advantages and dis advantages for young people who decide to do this.

In some countries, especially in Europe, a lot of young people are encouraged to take the gap year between finishing high school and starting universities studies. students who decide to take a year to work or travel like this will face both advantages and disadvantages. In this essay will analyze the benefits and also the downside of taking a gap year.

gap year is being considered by many students and parents as young people will have the opportunities to find their career interest. By doing a variety of jobs, they will eventually know what their strength is and what they are passionate about. Each job or each activity will help students explore and learn new things which they are hardly be taught at school by participating in volunteering, part-time job, organizations, etc. For instance, young people who have real experience during their gap year will choose their major more accurately due to their career interest and have the tendency to remain to be involved in their chosen career. Opposite to that, those who straightly go to the universities without knowing anything about their major will be shocked and start feeling exhausted and tend to drop out of school. this leads to higher unemployment in many countries and seriously impact the nation's GDP.

On the other hand, taking gap year may have some downsides as it will be destructive for students if it's not well-planned. Instead of being involved in different kind of jobs, students may also be involved in inappropriate activities such as drugs, alcohol, violence, etc. they will lose their direction and easy to get out of track. The reason for this is that students are not old enough to understand how harsh life is. they may not be able to control themselves when negative activities seduce them. For instance, a young man in Viet Nam, during his gap year, he was seduced by a stranger to sell drugs for him as this'll bring him higher income than any jobs he was currently doing. The man was so naive that he decided to take that inappropriate activity. he soon then lost himself and be captured by the police at a very young age, losing youth forever.

In conclusion, taking a year before going to university will help students to discover their career interest, but it also needs to be planned carefully if young people don't want to lose their future. In general, the gap year is relevant to students and they should be encouraged to take it.