In some countries young people have become richer healthier and live longer but they are less happy What are the causes What can be done to address this situation

In modern days, while many young people enjoy healthier and wealthier lives compared to the previous generations, they seem to be much less happy. As this trend could severely affect the mental wellness of millions people, it is essential for society to identify the roots of the problem and solutions to deal with it.

There is a variety of reasons for the unhappiness of youngsters. Among those, the most popular cause is probably the work-related stress. Although it is true that the average income of people these days is significantly higher than in the past, people have to earn it at the extend of their mental health. In particular, they have to deal with heavy workloads in order to secure the well-paid jobs, which is likely to result in anxiety and depression later in their lives. Another reason making young people unhappy is the development of the media, which tells people about the public figures who achieve success in their early ages. As youngsters tend to be competitive, they are placed under substantial pressure when being aware of the more successful people.

Having discussed the causes of the issue, some measures could be given accordingly. First of all, it is of great importance to clarify to young people that specific achievements such as standing out from others may not be as satisfactory as it seems. Many people could suffer from disappointment when they are not satisfied despite having their goals accomplished; thus, this measure can prevent them from getting disappointed. Another feasible solution for young people is to attend yoga or meditation classes, which have a reputation of relieving stress. These practices is becoming increasingly popular nowadays as a treatment of mental illnesses, so it could be worthwhile for people to try.

In conclusion, the fame and fortune that many people are striving for are seemingly causing counterproductivities to them. In order to avoid this problem, the youngs should set realistic targets for themselves as well as taking different methods to enhance the resilience of their minds.