Some people think that the government should invest in teaching science rather than in other subjects for a country development and progress What extent do you agree or disagree

These days, it is true that humans enjoy tremendous benefits from scientific advances. As a result, many people suggest that the education system should focus on promoting students’ knowledge in science rather than in other fields, so that the country could develop rapidly. Nevertheless, in my opinion, although scientific education plays an essential role in the growth of nations, the importance of other subjects, such as geography, should not be overlooked.

On the one hand, scientific findings are one of the decisive factors which contribute to a country’s development. For example, the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries witnessed the introduction of great scientists such as Isaac Newton and Michael Faraday, and their theories that are considered the basis of science in the modern world. As those renowed people originated mostly from European countries, the countries have successfully applied their findings in practice, significantly improving their productivities and making them the earliest developed countries. Recently, other governments have seen the importance of scientific research, accordingly trying to promote the research in order to benefit from them.

On the other hand, social subjects such as literature and geography also provide students crucial understandings about the world, thus, they cannot be neglected. At the elementary level, they show students the appropriate behaviour in specific circumstances, which may be even more important than teaching them about machines and computers. Furthermore, the subjects also help learners to understand management, which is essential to a nation since it is rather difficult for organizations to operate without proper regulations.

All in all, a country would have to promote the study of sciene in order to acquire favourable achievements. However, it is also desired that the government, to develop the comprehensive knowledge of students, so that the country could possess knowledgeable leaders in the future.