In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

In many countries, parents frequently teach their children that hard work will help them achieve their goals. In my perspective, this message results in both advantages and disadvantages for children.

On the one hand, the first benefit is that this advice will motivate children, and help them to keep their enthusiasm for their life. Success requires people to spend a lot of time and money to achieve and on the long road to success, people may lose their motivation, they may wonder why they still achieve nothing. Therefore, the juveniles who are told this message could be trusted in themself and not give up since they understand that success will come when they try hard enough. The second benefit is that this message can help children's mental health when they are unsuccessful in their work and study. On the road to success, failure is a significant factor to achieve goals, everything needs several attempts, learning from failure to get better and better. However, humans, especially children, may feel upset and unconfident when they are not successful although they try constantly. From that, this advice will comfort children and remind them not to stop trying.

On the other hand, this message also has drawbacks when children may be misleading. To achieve something, in addition to trying, it is also necessary to have plans for future ambition and to be fortunate in some conditions. Because of that, children may waste their time chasing a goal without a plan, and they may received no success. For instance, a businessman wants to sell his products, but he has no plan for advertisement and financial issues, so he just keeps improving the quality of his products and the public still does not notice.

In conclusion, teaching children like this may bring some advantages and disadvantages, parents should teach them a wide view of this message to not harm them in the future.