In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some cultural beliefs, kids have to put forth a wealth of effort to acquire their goals. In my standpoint, some significant merits can be elicited from this notion along with the demerits which I will elucidate in the subsequenting paragraph.

With regard to some beneficial aspects, making a strong effort to obtain desired results tends to develop the children’s sense of tenacity. They would be more willing to attempt new experiences, yielding positive outcomes. As seen in Japanese educational culture, which teaches the importance of hard work at an early age is taught to value perseverance through strict school routines and consistent homework. Moreover, the ability of how kids appreciate failure and result success reminds them to keep going and view failure as a chance to develop and to learn. For instance, Michael Jordan who is lost almost 300 games in his basketball games remarkably becomes the greatest basketball player of all time.

Turning to drawbacks, perfectionist demands from parents towards their young kids who encourage them to perform endless perfection from themselves, leading to personality disorders. As a consequence, if parents’ expectations were unfulfilled, kids would blame themselves and feel demotivated. In addition, they tend to ignore their nutritional value required for daily dietary intake. Children often skip their mealtime as well as consuming fast food due to the numerous tasks they must do as parts of their educational purposes. Along with drained energy, many young teenagers experience digestive disorders vulnerable to common diseases.

To sum up, putting up the remarkable efforts to attain the goals arise from the upsides ranging from developing a sense of persistence to accompanying failure and success. Meanwhile, the downsides that we could see are the mind-burdening family demands and well-being future.