Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15, while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school. What are the benefits of each system? Which do you think is a better educational system?

In certain parts of the world, high school students are required to study specific subjects when they are 15 years old, while in other education systems, students are made to learn diverse subjects before leaving school.

It is a common idea that a broad and holistic curriculum can carry out versatile individuals, ensuring students a fulfilling cultural life and a thriving career later. Apart from the undoubted benefits of academic subjects, non-academic foreign language, welcoming attitude spoken Vietnamese, for ones are no less unsubstantial. Obviously, by learning, students can be imbued with a good understanding of alien cultures. A good linguistic ability example can help young foreigners know why they are often ripped off at markets, or why other residents are sometimes inhospitable towards them, thus find ways to avoid such situations. Meanwhile, sport or PE classes, as another example, can enhance students’ ability to foster their creativity and lateral thinking, both representing desirable qualities of a potential candidate and giving them an upper hand when entering the workforce, another work as a team while art classes can.

It is also argued that educational institutions make students focus on job-related or foundation subjects that facilitate their transition to later education. By integrating such courses as public speaking, independent learning skills, or personal finances, students might be more confident and well-prepared for real-life situations. Therefore, focusing on a limited number of subjects in such a way cannot guarantee a student's well-rounded development. They may be proficient in their work, but they could lack the necessary communication skills in the context of globalization if not investing properly in language learning. At the same time, they can suffer from a physically weak body to continue their further study or research in their profession if in their secondary school physical exercise periods are neglected.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that students can reap greater benefits from an education system which includes a wide array of academic disciplines. In the 21st century when professionalism and personal development are highlighted, such a paradigm will be embraced by more and more educational reformers.