Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The last decade has witnessed an escalation in technology development. Using technology to monitor people’s conversations and activities is no longer unfamiliar nowadays. Personally, I am of the opinion that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will attempt to have a closer look at this issue.

To begin with, it is the fact that applying technology in our life could offer huge benefits. Firstly, using technology as a protector to create a safe life for human beings. To illustrate, people who live alone should install security cameras in their houses to check whether thieves break into their house and attack them when they’re back home. Secondly, a technology monitor can help police whenever a kidnap happens. That is to say, location tracking is helpful for policemen to rescue people. In brief, there are numerous profits of monitoring by technology.

Howbeit, there would also be the presence of some drawbacks. For example, crime may use it to support their illegal actions, such as attacking the security systems of citizen’s houses to collect their private videos. However, we can reduce this risk by turning off the cameras when at home.

To conclude then, despite the downsides of this issue being existent, I am completely in favor of the advantages of bringing from monitored technology.