Some education systems make students focus on certain subjects at the age of 15 while others require students to study a wide range of subjects until they leave school What are the benefits of each system Which do you think is a better educational system

Nowadays, some high schools make students concentrate on main subjects, while others argue that students should broaden their horizons on other subjects until they leave school. Each system has its advantages, but I believe that focusing on certain subjects will be better for students whose target is going to university.

There are various reasons that studying a wide range of subjects will beneficial to high school students. First, this system may help students gaining more and more knowledge and developing a unique capability to solve problems in any contexts. Second, it seems to be an opportunity for students to discover subjects that suit their interest and career plans if they did not realise before. Lastly, it finds worthwhile for pupils because many fields in university are combined at least two different ones such as biochemistry, physical chemistry and bioinformatics.

However, I would argue that it is necessary to spend more time on learning major subjects to prepare thoroughly for college entrance exam without distraction. Moreover, it is not enough time to study a subject in-depth, so it may be useless since you do not memorise what you have studied. Major subjects, that are what students choose to learn, would arouse their interest. Therefore, pupils will study in an active way due to their preference.

In conclusion, it might be sensible for high schools to require students to study as many subjects as they can, but I prefer the system that let them focus only on certain subjects to gain high quality.