Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, it is undeniable that music plays an important role in our life, as it can be seen everywhere. While, some educationalists think that all children should be taught how to play a musical instrument, others argue that it should not be taught to their child. In this passage, both views will be discussed.

On the one hand, playing an instrument can distract children from doing more important tasks. Firstly, learning how to play an instrument occupies one’s time to study. For instance, learning how to play a difficult instrument like piano will take 2 to 3 hours a day, which won’t let the child study. Moreover, practicing harder and harder is needed to achieve the highest prize in the competition, if they attended. This make them lacks time studying even more. Secondly, not everyone is interested in playing an musical instrument. Some might feel more excited to study biology, chemistry, etc. Therefore, they won’t want to play any instrument. Thinking it is essential and forcing them to play is worse for them in this situation.

Despite the aforementioned facts, learning how to play an instrument does have its merits. Firstly, it train children’s positive personalities. It requires a lot of passion and patience to master an instrument, therefore they must be very hard-working. This may effect their behavior at home and school. Furthermore, children won’t feel lonely playing an instrument, as the musical soul of the instrument will be their friend as they play. Some will also find their passionate in playing instruments, which will develope into their career in the future. Many instrumentalists are being on top of the society, being famous and wealthy.

In conclusion, despite the disadvantages bringing to the one which doesn’t have an interest, the path and values playing instruments open for passionate children outweigh the drawbacks. The way to solve the idea is to teach the ones who are interested, and don’t for the rest.