Some educators believe that international school exchange visits are important for teenage children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that education is not the only way but the fastest path to reach the 'success' destination. Recently, foreign exchange visit programmes have been introduced into the schooling system by educators who consider that students would benefit a great deal from this project as they strive for success. In this essay, I will throw the light on both perspectives as although I agree with this opinion, I believe this brings both drawbacks and benefits to teenagers.

On the one hand, it is a common belief that the international school exchange visits bring numerous merits to juveniles. The main reason behind this notion is that pupils can meet different people and learn a range of skills such as teamwork, communication, cultural acquisition from them. These interaction opportunities make students capable of developing social experiences and get a deeper insight into national culture. Moreover, living far away without depending on parents for daily lives, students will become more self-reliant since each individual ought to learn how to cook, clean, manage objects and even make their own decisions. This will subject teenagers to learning how to tolerate the differences and self-boost their confidence. [good]

On the other hand, it is cogent that every coin has two sides and the same is true here.[nice] The first drawback of this foreign curriculum is culture shock. After facing unfamiliar customs and different beliefs, juveniles can be led to misunderstanding, tension and the worst is conflicts. Then, they find it difficult to concentrate on their studies and may be disoriented or homesick. In addition to these emotional stress, studying in an unfamiliar environment can be challenging for students who will face language barriers, and get overwhelmed by difficult workloads. This might destroy the students’ eagerness to learn and curiosity to explore the host countries, which means opposite to the original goal of doing cultural exchange. Hence, the cost of these programmes are too expensive for students in underdeveloped countries to afford it. [good]

To sum up, I wholeheartedly agree with this statement because it becomes crystal clear that by successfully overcoming those disadvantages, this studying travels offer numerous benefits to teenage children.