Some believe that charitable organizations should help people no matter where they live. Others argue that charities should only help those living in the country where the charity is based. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The contribution of charitable organizations to the wellbeing of citizens of developing countries is undeniable. Their help ranges from economic empowerment, education investment, and financial assistance. While many individuals are in the belief that charitable organizations should lend people a hand no matter where they are from, others debate that charities should only help those living in the country where the charity is located. From my standpoint, I would agree with the latter view.

On the one hand, it is true that people in a country should help each other as much as possible. From a very long time ago, there was a Vietnamese legend about Lac Long Quan and Au Co who brought to the world a big pouch which got out one hundred eggs that gave birth to one hundred babies which is then believed to be the ancestors of Viet Nam’s community. It encourages/promotes the message that people of the same origin and nationality should love and help others if they could. If “humanitarian systems” only target the poor in their vicinity, they can comprehensively focus their resources, time and effort on those people. However, this point of view does not highlight the essence of chariting. That of chariting is the help to unlucky people from the bottom of one’s heart. If possible, the help should be spread all over the globe, since people of low living conditions can be found anywhere and there will never be enough charity for them.

On the other hand, many philanthropic organizations have the resources and influence to help people from other countries. Therefore, they should reach out to people in need of help in those countries. This altruistic action not only positively improves the two countries’ diplomatic relationship but also brings that organization a good reputation. Thus, more and more people keep an eye on it which offers that organization a great deal of propitious chances for fundraising. Nonetheless, the international transportations delivering resources to poor people in other countries could be costly. For charitable organizations, optimizing operational costs is the foremost priority.

In conclusion, both of these statements are partly right and partly wrong to a certain extent. Thus, I suppose that charitable organizations should put the interests of their country first.