Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employerssee no benefit in doing so.

Consider the arguments from both aspects of this possible debate, and reach a conclusion

Nowadays some employers are interested in investing money on employee’s leisure time activities in order to boost the quality of the work they do, however the others have a view that this can not be beneficial.

There are various reasons to subsidise work out activities of employee in any workplaces. First of ll long hours of physical and mental work lead to some disorders in our body and mind such as stress, obesity, anxiety etc. To overcome all of these health problems there should be a healthy life style with regular activities. In addition, regular activities have a positive impact on human’s moral condition such as increasing motivation, self confidence, self awareness. This can lead to the better job satisfaction with compare to whom are not the members of gym and sports club.

On the other hand, companies which are mostly financial target focused are more interested in short term goals instead of long term healthy goals by subsidising sport activities. As a result, they are willing to find more useful ways of motivating employee to work more efficiently by giving some rewards, bonuses or higher ranks. Companies in which subsidising activities seems unattractive also prefer to subsidise educational support of their workers in order to be more aware of the work they do.

In conclusion, companies are able to take powerful steps on their industry by investing money on worker’s leisure time activities in order to satisfy them from the aspect of work/life balance, however some employers see drawbacks of it.