some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the phenomenon of learning a foreign language and its corresponding impacts have sparked massive debates. Apart from numerous advantages of learning a second language by elementary school children, some scientists are of the opinion that dealing with foreign language should be started at older ages. In my view, the merits of learning foreign languages at ages under eleven can be considered in terms of both the learning ability of children and psychological effects. However, we shouldn’t lose sight of its demerits.

Obviously, a remarkable number of education systems in all around the world commence the process of being familiar with other languages at preschools. Because young children are capable to learn at outstanding speed, researchers incline to begin at the age of seven or so. In terms of evolution, these children can easily handle techniques of learning another language.

Moreover, psychologically speaking, learning two separate languages at the same time as early as elementary school period end up to enhance pupils’ social skills. They have the opportunity to acquire the ability of interaction with a wider range of people in a second language learning process. Thus, pupils can promote speaking abilities even at their mother tongue. In realm of psychology, psychologists have asserted that being bilingual lead to improve self-esteem of pupils.

On the other hand, other experts claim that the downsides of learning a foreign language at elementary schools far outweigh its benefits. They suggest children should start this process from secondary schools. This group experts have a number of explanations such as children’ original language structures are hard-wired in their minds. Consequently, learning a new language in this stage don’t interfere with their mother tongue. Besides, pupils don’t need to struggle with adaptation issues, for example, baffling on vocabularies of both languages because their native vocabularies are transferred into their unconscious mind.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on cons and pros of a specific age in which children should launch a foreign language, I opt vigorously support the idea that the age around seven is the best one. Eventually, is it possible to forget our mother tongue in the process of learning foreign languages?