Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

In the last decade, with the increasing globalization, which appears in the modern world, and especially the growing tendency of English language to be universal, it has become popular to teach children the second language as soon as their first words come out of their mouth. Indeed, researchers suppose that it is more effective to start learning a foreign language simultaneously with the native one, for example at primary school. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this practice.

Numerous examples of bilingual children have shown that learning two languages on an equal basis from an early age produces a better knowledge of the second language in comparison with youngsters, who start their study at the age of 10-12 years. They can speak foreign language fluently without an accent, be able to master it for life and study other languages easier. These advantages are the main reason for the mentioned trend.

Despite all the positive aspects, if parents do not speak the second language at home and language classes are rarely held, then this practice has mostly a negative effect on a child. The young mind is incapable to grasp the vocabulary and the grammar rules without a language environment. Therefore, studying is not only ineffective, but also turns out to be a burden for an elementary school student who already has a dozen lessons.

In conclusion, if parents take a responsible approach to teaching their child a second language, the latter will achieve strong results in studying and will outperform peers, eventually having more opportunities in the future. Accordingly, the benefits of the practice outweigh the drawbacks.