Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is debatable whether pupils should begin learning a foreign language in primary school in today's environment. Some individuals believe that students should learn a new foreign language in primary school rather than secondary school, while others disagree. I believe that the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

There are several disadvantages of learning languages at primary age, and the main argument is that can increase the pressure on children. At that age, children not only learn maths, science..., especially mother tongue language but also discover everything in their life. Pupils have to have the time to play and entertain, learning too much knowledge makes them confused and have no time to relax. The amount of homework and lessons a young child has to deal with is too much for them to handle, and this could hold back the development of their first language.

Also, I believe that this view brings about more positive impacts. Firstly, learning a foreign language is helpful for the growth of a child’s brain. A study by United Nations has proved that learning any language other than the native one activates various new parts of the brain which were never used before. As a result, making kids learn a new language at an early age will help them in their mental growth. Secondly, studying a different language from an early age can benefit more as the child grows up. Being multilingual helps a person get onsite opportunities. Hence, raising the chance of getting the best job possible. Infosys, for instance, gives priority to their employees who have a good command over the English language, for any vacancy they have in the USA. So, getting used to a language at an early age will make one comfortable and confident.

To sum up, despite certain disadvantages, it seems to me that learning a foreign language as soon as possible brings a vast amount of benefits.