Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is critical to be competent in a second language because the world's governments are progressively opening their borders to international trade. Some argue that children should study a second language as part of their elementary education. This has both pros and downsides; however, I believe that the advantages outweigh the problems significantly.

Early exposure to a foreign language in elementary school has a number of downsides. To begin, this places an additional load on young people, as more subjects equals increased pressure. And it may be shown that youngsters who are subjected to additional strain from studies eventually develop health problems. Additionally, children may experience language difficulties when switching between their mother tongue and second language. When children are in primary school, they have not mastered their mother tongue, and learning another language might result in difficulties with language choice and expression when speaking the native language.

It is an established fact that learning different languages at a young age benefits children in numerous ways. Numerous studies indicate that the earlier children acquire a foreign language, the more capable they are of developing a language similar to their mother tongue. In other words, this is both extremely effective and low-effort. Additionally, early exposure to a foreign language benefits children not only in terms of proficiency in that language, but also in terms of intelligence and development in general. To instance, learning a new language helps youngsters develop intellectually, broadens their comprehension, and builds their confidence. Additionally, proper pronunciation and fluency developed at a young age will extend future study options and careers.

While learning a new language at a young age may have drawbacks, these issues can be overcome with the proper parenting. As a result, I am a firm believer that pupils should begin learning foreign languages in elementary school rather than high school.