Young people who commit serious crimes, such as robbery or violent attacks should be punished in the same way as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Committing a crime is a serious action that needs to have a punishment for those who committed it. Nowadays, the rate of criminal of the juvenile is rising, there’re opinions saying that young people should be punished the same way as adults. In my opinion, even though young people commit mistakes, the punishments they receive should be a little less severe than for mature people.

Though the youth are elated, immature, and unaware of the consequences of their actions if using that reason to justify killing and swindling, it is incorrect to say that they are virtually innocent. Their thoughtless action cannot be forgiven, there are young criminals who seem to take advantage that they are not old enough to be punished by the law then commit crimes. They think this can help them run from being condemned or even getting away with sentences.

Nevertheless, each judgment should be applied based on their age. If the government applies the highest punishment such as lifetime prisoned and the worst is death. It could devastate the youth, devastate those committed, they won’t have the chance to fix what they have done. With that being done, it can affect negatively the nation. To reduce the rate of crime, we should do something else to alter, maybe provide better education, raise their awareness. Helping them to recognize what is bad what is good and help them to have a better future. Moreover, if they committed a crime, we can give them a second chance, they can be renovating, changing to a better person and it’s better than those hard punishments which can destroy their life.

With that being said, I believe that they need to be punished but not the same way as the adults.