Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is generally accepted that the earlier a child learns a foreign language, the better they will become at it. In the past, secondary school was seen as a time for children to start learning a second language. This is no longer the case with many schools now starting foreign languages from the age of 5 or 6 and some even as early as 3. This means that it is better to start teaching a foreign language in primary school, rather than secondary school.

The disadvantages of children learning a foreign language when they go to secondary school depending on the time. They don't have much time to learn because they are busy with much other homework. The test and the stress make them feel overwhelmed when learning many new things. Their brain can't load. The marks will not be high if parents put too much pressure on this subject.

And opposite with that, learning a new language in primary school is an advantage. When the children learn soon, it can make your child quick acquisition, smarter, easy to communicate with people and more confident. For instance, when you teach them something new like a new word they can remember it exactly even if you teach them for the first time. Although they can learn what they are taught by teachers in a quite short time, their can be lost interest in studying foreign languages because of an unprofessional boring tutor. But parents can help them regain interest and confidence.

Overall, learning foreign languages at primary school can be detrimental. However, we cannot deny the benefits of learning a second language at a young age.