Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Studies show that children who begin foreign language study as young as possible perform better in it later in life. Secondary school used to be considered the ideal time for students to begin learning a foreign language. No longer, as many schools begin teaching foreign languages to students as young as five or six, and in some cases as young as three. As a result, foreign language instruction should begin in elementary school rather than secondary school.

The advantages and disadvantages of secondary school students learning a foreign language. They are overburdened with other assignments and have little time to learn. When they have to learn a lot of new things, the pressure of the test and the stress it causes overwhelms them. Their brain isn't able to take in any more information. If parents place too much emphasis on this subject, their children will struggle academically.

But learning a second language in elementary school has an advantage. When children pick up new skills quickly, they become more intelligent, sociable, and self-assured. For example, even if you teach them something new like a new word for the first time, they will remember it exactly. Teachers can teach students a great deal in a short period of time, but students who have a boring unprofessional tutor may lose interest in learning foreign languages. However, parents can aid their children in regaining their lost enthusiasm and self-esteem.

Learning a foreign language in elementary school can be harmful in the long run.. We can't, however, ignore the advantages of starting early to learn a foreign language.