Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Parents’ demands for their children to learn a foreign language at an early age is soaring at the moment. Some experts suggest that children should get to learn their 2nd language at primary school rather than secondary school. From my perspective, this brings a lot of potentials, but there will be drawbacks for sure.

As for the advantages, learning a 2nd language at primary school is the way to make kids more prepared for the upcoming future. The earlier they get to learn a specific thing, the more skilled they will be when they’re in secondary school, or higher institutes. Secondly, according to some of the most recent researches, learning languages trains and lets children’ brains work. Therefore, it seems to make them smarter and develop a strong bilingual sense. That is the reason why many countries’ school system, especially those in Asia, make it compulsory for children to study a foreign language at 3rd grade, even at 1st grade in the international ones.

On the other hands, parents nowadays care so much about the academic performances that they force their child to always focus on their studies and study a language which is not suitable for them. Day by day, it will lead them disbelief their own abilities at such a young age, which is not a good sign for their own mental health and mindset. Moreover, some schools just focus on the students’ achievements and their reputation. Some teachers do not even give it a try, but just teach in such a lame, outdated way, making the 2nd language subject no more as appealing and meaningful as it was in the first place.

Altogether, I believe that it is good to let children learn a new language at primary school rather than secondary school. The advantages will only outweigh the negative ones, if adults truly support do not push their own kids so hard.