Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school Do the advantages of this overweigh its disadvantages

There are a few educationalists who have the opinion that a foreign language should be made fundamental during children's primary schooling. There are more pros than cons to this. This essay will highlight what can be the benefits of teaching a new language to primary level children and the associated downsides of this academic model.

When children gain exposure to a new language, they readily accept it and make it a part of their life. This typically happens when children have just been enrolled into school. Apart from easy acceptance, this tendency can also build their confidence in handling a foreign language which can ultimately open up thousand of career avenues for them in the future. Similarly, teaching a foreign language can have the advantage of kids appreciating a language from a different country with the potential impact of instilling a sense of understanding and acceptance of a foreign culture. For instance, we listen to a lot of english songs and watch movies. If we didn't know the language, we would not have accepted those people who speak that language. So we are able to revert ourselves to a state of equilibrium with each watch or listening.

On the other hand, when kids are made to learn a new language other than their own, this can put a strain on their academics. This may gradually result in a loss of interest in studies and trigger no new acquisition of knowledge or skills. On top that, our conception that a new language can promote equality can prove counterintuitive. What I mean by this is that children may start prioritizing foreign language over the language of their own. They might even embrace second language as being more comfortable for usage which can threaten national identity and culture in the long-run.

To sum up, children should be taught a non-native language only when they are able to understand the implications of them on our society, that is when they begin their secondary schooling because it can cause psychological stress to kids and also threaten our significant cultural norms and traditions.