Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

To begin studying a foreign language at primary school is supposed to be superior to starting at secondary school by several educationalists. In my opinion, while this idea may an unwanted detriment, its significant benefits should be paid more attention by society.

On the one hand, I contend that teaching foreign language in primary school may lead to unpleasant consequences. It is because many youngsters have been assigned to learn and achieve high scores in multiple subjects, which they may have no capacity to tackle effectively in the same period. Consequently, they might fail in some courses which can destroy their confidence in studying, or even worse, they may lose interest in learning at schools. These outcomes are undesirable for not only the children themselves but also for their family and society as a whole in the future.

However, I think that after making a considerable effort practicing a foreign language at young ages, the benefit of this approach can be easily noticed. For instance, a number of students have failed to attend well-known colleges, while the others have passed the university entrance exam thanks to better IELTS scores achieved by have been studying English since their childhood. Therefore, if parents concern about their offspring future achievement, they would be likely to allow them to study foreign languages at the beginning of primary school. By this way, the young can have a considerable competitive advantage in academic environment as well as their career path compared to their peers.

In conclusion, all the existing data has provided a concrete foundation that even though youngsters may find it difficult to deal with many subjects in primary school included foreign language, the payoff in future work and study is thus making the advantages outweigh disadvantages.