Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Some educationalists have suggested that a foreign language should be taught to students when they start their primary school education rather than at secondary education level. In my opinion, however, while starting to learn a foreign language at an early age may cause some undesirable effects on the learners, its significant benefits are undeniably huge.

On the one hand, I suppose that teaching foreign language at primary school may lead to unpleasant consequences. It is because many youngsters have been assigned to learn and achieved high scores in multiple subjects, which they may have no capacity to tackle effectively in the same period. Consequently, they might fail some courses which can destroy their confidence in studying, or even worse, they may lose interest in learning at school. These outcomes are undesirable not only for the children themselves but also for their family and society as a whole.

On the other hand, I believe that after making a considerable effort practicing a foreign language at young ages, the benefit of this approach can be eventually noticed. For instance, a number of students have failed to attend well-known colleges, whereas the others have passed the university entrance exam thanks to better IELTS scores achieved by have been studying English since their childhood. Therefore, if parents concern about their offspring future achievements, they would be likely to allow them to study foreign languages at the beginning of primary school. By this way, the young can have a enormous competitive advantage in their academic performance as well as their career path compared to their peers.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that even though children may find it difficult to deal with many subjects at primary school included foreign language, the payoff in remarkable future success has made the advantage outweigh the disadvantage.