some local languages are dying . why this is happening ? is it positive or negative development?

There are numerous languages around the globe and innumerable dialects to these. However, presently many regional linguistic types are disappearing, which i believe is an unappreciated change.

This disappearance of languages has been attributed to various causes such as bringing uniformity among people . for this reason, it is preferred to communicate either national languages or international one. additionally, education institutions deter the use of local dialects and this habit accompanies children at home also . for instance , it is very rare to hear the youth conversing i their mother tongue as their schools do not allow it. moreover, some languages are regarded as inferior to other and hence avoided to be used. another reason behind this change is globalization as now people travel overseas where a common languages makes interaction easier.

Although, this phenomenon may have benefits such as uniformity and ease, in my opinion it has greater drawbacks. Loss of a particular language hinges upon the culture integrity of an area and the linguistic diversity of a place.Language reveals the identity of people and by not communicating in their own language, it affects their personal identity.

Moreover, due to consideration of language as a superior, it may bring the feelings of inferiority among people who are unable to converse in that particular language, which results in social seclusion causing a rift in the society. A recent survey concludes that people of a certain region are treated inappropriately because the speak in a dialect considered derogatory.

In the agglomeration, languages should be preserved and respected, in fact local dialects should be encouraged an presented in international avenues to raise awareness about the linguistic diversities.