Some old people today struggle with the use of modern technologies such as smartphones and computers.

What is the cause of this?

What are some possible solutions?

Nowadays, in contrast with technophiles, a greater part of elder people faces with challenges while using cutting-edge technologies. Alongside various reasons, the major one might be due to the recent development in advanced gadgets and the potential solution may be mainly found through education.

Old people tend to show a total lack of the required skill set such as typing during the usage of high-tech items and it is the reason why they struggle a lot. Since the older generations did not grow up in an environment surrounded by several electrical appliances, it may be extremely complicated for them to adapt to the new devices from time to time. Among the elderly, it is proven that the learning curve is often too flat and the process is quite tough in comparison with the generation X while mastering enhanced technologies.

Recent generations have been using the revolutionary products for quite a while and typically, children become computer literates even before they start going to school. In general, old people receive help from their grandchildren if they have any and consequently, applying this strategy for the majority of the aged population would be effective in terms of the learning process. Additionally, it was pointed out in the report conducted in the United Kingdom that there were many educational centres built for the people who had troubles catching up with the recent improvements and who were eager to learn about the usage of modern devices. If the method that will be applied involves training high-tech devices, it will be possible for aged people to get used to mobile phones and computers.

Overall, educational sessions and more frequent exposure to gadgets will definitely have an impact on the current situation which is caused by the rapid pace of breakthroughs and technological modifications.