Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

More people have conflicting views about the appearance at work. Some companies firmly believe that their employees should dress smartly and formally, while other organizations think the work quality is more important. In my point of view, the workers’ appearance should depend on their type of work that is in service fields or production areas.

First of all the nice look will give employees more chances in their career if they are working in service or entertainment fields. In these jobs, the worker have to work with human such as customers or audiences. Therefore, their smartly dress will show their respect to the clients and impress the other people favorably. A fashion shop owner with a nice dress is an intelligent way to introduce her products and attract the shoppers is an example.

In contrast to service industry, production and technical areas are focus on the product manufacturing and most of working time is with the machine, hence, it is no need to take care of the appearance. These companies value the work effectiveness of the staffs above their dresses. The owners in these fields hold the perspective that comfortable clothes will help their employees work more effective. However, some industries require the workers wear the uniform or specialized clothes in the working area such as pharmaceutical facilities. In these factories, they control the environment strictly and the staffs must wear cleaned and sanitized uniform to make sure the products' quality.

In conclusion, smartly dressing has varying opinions in different industry. Employees need to wear attractive in service field, while they can wear comfortable clothes in others. I wholeheartedly believe that each worker should know what the suitable clothes for the job.